Erickson Earns ECC Player of the Year Honors; Henderson Named Defensive Player of the Year

Erickson Earns ECC Player of the Year Honors; Henderson Named Defensive Player of the Year

The St. Thomas Aquinas College women's basketball team was well represented in East Coast Conference post-season awards, announced Friday. Jenna Erickson was named ECC Player of the Year, while Adiya Henderson was tapped as Defensive Player of the Year. The Lady Spartans (24-4, 16-2) will carry the #2 seed into Saturday's ECC semi-finals, squaring off against #3 seeded tournament host Roberts Wesleyan College at 2:30 pm.

Erickson's award capped off four seasons of excellence, garnering the top recognition from ECC coaches. In her freshman campaign, she was named Rookie of the Year as well as a Third Team All-Conference selection, she was a Second Team selection as a sophomore, and this marks the second straight season with First Team honors. In her four seasons at STAC, Jenna has played in all 118 Lady Spartans contests - starting all but two - during which the team has compiled a 75-43 record, and she enters the post-season with 1,777 career points.

Henderson, another four year Lady Spartan, made her mark on the defensive end while also earning Second Team All-ECC kudos. She was second in the conference in blocks with 59, and her 180 rebounds was 11th among ECC foes. She has missed just three games over her four seasons, while amassing 877 career points and 581 rebounds, while her 153 blocks currently stands 2nd on the ECC's All-Time list in that category.

East Coast Conference Women's Basketball (Read the Official ECC Release Here)

Post-Season Awards

First Team

Jenna Erickson, St. Thomas Aquinas 

Beth Bonin, Queens

Maia Hood, NYIT

Sasha Patterson, LIU Post

Sarah Saba, Daemen

Nina Vukosavljevic, NYIT


Second Team

Adiya Henderson, St. Thomas Aquinas

Taya Andrews, Roberts Wesleyan

Emily Miller, Roberts Wesleyan

Mikaiya Moore, LIU Post

Merrick Rowland, Queens

Samnell Vonleh, Bridgeport


Third Team

Lucy Covley, Roberts Wesleyan

Kadijah Dickson, Bridgeport

Kylie Garrett, LIU Post

Necedah James, Roberts Wesleyan

Daeja Quick, Dist. Columbia


Player of the Year: Jenna Erickson, St. Thomas Aquinas

Rookie of the Year: Daeja Quick, Dist. Columbia

Defensive Player of the Year: Adiya Henderson, St. Thomas Aquinas

Coach of the Year: Deirdre Moore, LIU Post