Reyes Named ECC Player of the Year; McFarlan, Mitchell Garner 2nd Team Honors

Reyes Named ECC Player of the Year; McFarlan, Mitchell Garner 2nd Team Honors

The St. Thomas Aquinas College men's basketball team enters the post-season with Justin Reyes named as the East Coast Conference Player of the Year for the third straight season. Shaquille McFarlan and James Mitchell were named to the All-ECC Second Team. The Spartans (24-6, 15-3) enter this weekend's ECC Tournament as the #2 seed and will face #3 Daemen on Saturday night in a 7:30 tip at tourney host Roberts Wesleyan College.

In addition to his conference honors - which started with Rookie of the Year and Thrid Team All-ECC honors in 2014-15 - Reyes has been named an All-American, is a finalist for the Bevo Francis Award for Excellence in Small College Basketball, and has become the all-time leading scorer in conference history, dating to its start in 1989-90. He stands at 2,188 career points, putting him just 76 behind the school's all-time record, and he has grabbed 1,114 rebounds to go with 167 blocks.

For Mitchell and McFarlan, it is the first post-season honor for each. Mitchell reached the career 1,000 point plateau earlier this season and stands a 1,090 with 340 career assists. McFarlan also topped the century mark earlier this season and stands at 1,232 career points, and has been an integral part of the senior class which has combined for 100 victories over the past four seasons, with the total record of 100-28 accounting for an impressive .781 win percentage over their careers.

First Team

Justin Reyes, St. Thomas Aquinas

Nick Corbett, Molloy

Jeffrey Hayden, NYIT

Sam Joseph, Bridgeport

Jared Rivers, LIU Post

Andrew Sischo, Daemen


Second Team

Shaquille McFarlan, St. Thomas Aquinas

James Mitchell, St. Thomas Aquinas

Sharif Cobb, Bridgeport

Curtis Jenkins, Molloy

D'Vonne Trumbo, Bridgeport


Third Team

Tyrone Hall, Queens

Breon Harris, Daemen

Isaiah Lewis, Roberts Wesleyan

Jeff Redband, Daemen

Jay Sarkis, Daemen


Player of the Year: Justin Reyes, St. Thomas Aquinas

Rookie of the Year: Andrew Sischo, Daemen

Defensive Player of the Year: Curtis Jenkins, Molloy

Coach of the Year: Mike Ruane, Bridgeport