Spartans Well-Represented At All-Met Basketball Awards Dinner

Spartans Well-Represented At All-Met Basketball Awards Dinner

The St. Thomas Aquinas College athletic department will be well-represented at the annual Metropolitan Basketball Writers' Association on Wednesday, April 26, at the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown, NY. Men's Basketball Coach Tobin Anderson, players Justin Reyes and Chaz Watler, and women's hoops guard Jenna Erickson will each receive honors.

Reyes has been recognized for his stellar junior season – which included the Spartans' second consecutive trip to the NCAA Tournament, highlighted by an East Region Championship and first-ever Elite Eight appearance - by being named as the Met's Division II Men's Player of the Year once again. The forward averaged 20.6 points per game and was an integral part of the team's 28-6 record, which was highlighted by winning streaks of 10, 9 and 9. He adds to his trophy collection, which includes kudos as ECC Player of the Year, All-Region and All-American selections.

Not to be forgotten, Watler, in his final season with the Spartans, continued with a strong campaign of his own, which included 14.5 points per game, a Second Team All-Conference selection, and a captain's role in leading the team to its third straight regular-season title, and second consecutive Conference Championship. Watler's contributions continued in the post season, as he scored in double figures in 4 of the 6 Spartan tournament contests, and is clearly on the short list of all-time great moments in the institution's history.

For his efforts as the architect of the powerhouse STAC squad, Anderson will be awarded his third consecutive All-Met Coach of the Year honors. In just four seasons, the bench boss has piloted his team to an impressive 91-36 overall record, 3-ECC Regular Season titles, 2-ECC Tournament Titles, an NCAA Division II East Region Championship and the school's first-ever Elite Eight appearance.


On the women's side, Jenna Erickson will be recognized with Second Team All-Met honors. After being named a Second Team All-ECC choice last season, she was a First Team All-ECC selection this year, serving as the Lady Spartans' floor general with 15.0 ppg for a squad that posted a 19-11 overall mark and a ECC Tournament Quarterfinal victory over the University of Bridgeport.

Wednesday's awards will be presented as part of the 84th Annual MBWA Haggarty Awards Dinner. The Met recognizes top hoops achievements throughout the New York Metropolitan area with weekly and seasonal awards across all three NCAA Divisions.