Four Spartan Golfers Named to the Ping All Region Team

Four Spartan Golfers Named to the Ping All Region Team

Division II PING All-Region honorees have been announced by the GCAA. Over 100 players across eight regions - East, Atlantic, Southeast, South, Midwest, South Central, Central and West - earned all-region honors for 2017.

Spartans Michael Frizalone, Kevin Gately, Brendan Hunter and Michael Miranda were selected to the East Region Team.  The foursome contributed to another strong year for the Spartans including the programs 7th trip to the NCAA DII Men's Golf Championships.  

The Spartans have been guided by the leadership of their two seniors; Kevin Gately and Brendan Hunter who have been an intrical part to the Spartans success over the past four seasons.  Both seniors have been a part of the program that has advanced to the NCAA DII Men's Golf Championships in three of their four seasons at STAC (2014, 2016 & 2017). 

Kevin Gately has played in over 100 colegiate rounds, maintaining a scoring average of 74.8 and currently holds a 73.26 scoring average.   Fellow class mate, Brendan Hunter is finishing his career having played in over 90 collegiate rounds, maintaining a 74.5 scoring average. Hunter has a current scoring average of 73.7. 

Junior Michael Miranda has been the Spartans top preformer of the season with a scoring average of 72.45.  Miranda has had three 1st place finishes and four 2nd place finishes this season. Miranda has finsihed among the top ten in 9 out of 13 tournaments this season.  

Sophomore Michael Frizalone has a scoring average of 74.81 and had two 2nd place finishes earlier this season.  Frizzalone has made back to back NCAA Championship appearances in 2016 as a freshmen and currently as a sophomore.   

Division II PING All-Region Teams

East Region

John Clare, Le Moyne

Michael Frizalone, St. Thomas Aquinas

Kevin Gately, St. Thomas Aquinas

Brendan Huner, St. Thomas Aquinas

Leonard Lee, Dominican Cal Meyers, Bentley

Michael Miranda, St. Thomas Aquinas

Zac Moore, Wilmington (DE)

Matt Paradis, Southern New Hampshire

Joe Petrin, Le Moyne

Juan Roa, Concordia (NY)

Miguel Siercke, Wilmington (DE)


Official Release