Spartans Wrap Up Season at NCAA Championship

Spartans Wrap Up Season at NCAA Championship

The St. Thomas Aquinas men's golf team finished out their season at the NCAA DII Men's Golf Championship held at Reunion Resort in Kissimmee, Fl.  The Spartans finished in 18th place competing among the top teams in the country.  

The Spartans had their best rounds early on finishing day one in 8th place with a team score of 287. On day two they drop a few spots and were tied for 12th place and after round three they completed the tournament in 18th place.  

One look at the weather report and wind gauge Wednesday morning gave the teams a preview of what they could expect once they were on the course. With rain in the afternoon forecast, the NCAA had changed the schedule format to a 9 a.m. shotgun start in order to hopefully finish ahead of anything that might reduce the stroke play portion of the tournament to two rounds. The move was successful, but the 108 golfers still had to deal with winds that exceeded 25 miles per hour by mid-morning.

As a result, the third-round scores were dramatically higher than the first two rounds.  Senior Kevin Gately carded the low round of the tournament posting a 2-under 68 on day one. Gately finished tied for 57th place overall after carding; 68, 77, 80.  Hamish Houston finished tied for 66th place with his best round of 74 coming on day two (75, 74, 78).  Michael Miranda had his best round of 71 on day one and went on to shoot 75 on day two before struggling on the final day and carding an 83.  

Michael Frizzalone shot 73 and 75 in his first two rounds before carding an 83 during his final round. Senior Brendan Hunter shot 79, 74, 79 for the tournament.  Both Hunter and Gately have helped guide the Spartans to the NCAA Championship in three out of their four years at St. Thomas Aquinas.  The Spartans have been one of the best teams in the East Region during their tenure. STAC was well represented in post season awards as four players were named to the Ping All Region team; Michael Frizalone, Kevin Gately, Brendan Hunter and Michael Miranda.